The 35th running of the Arlington Million

The Arlington million is a Grade 1 flat race open to horses aged three years and upward and is raced annually in August on turf at Arlington Park, Illinois. It was the first race to offer a purse of $1 million in its inaugural running in 1981 and is part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge series, meaning the winner automatically qualifies for the Breeders' Cup Turf. Little Mike was the last horse to win both races in 2012 under Ramon Dominguez. To this day the race is still worth $1 million but i'm sure this is probably because Arlington 1.5 million doesn’t have the same ring to it as the Arlington million.

Arlington million is the feature race of the day and last years winner was Mondialiste under the ride of Daniel Tudhope. However it is not the only big race on the day as the Beverly D. Stakes and the Secretariat Stakes are also run on this day at Arlington, worth $700,000 and $450,000 respectively.

The Beverly D. Stakes is the fillies' counterpart of the Arlington Million and is a Breeders' Cup Challenge "Win and You're In" qualifier for the Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Turf. The race is renowned for producing the American Champion Female as 6 Beverly D winners have gone to win this prize, most recently in 2013, the winner of which was Dank.

The Secretariat Stakes is the brother of both the Arlington Million and the Beverly D. Stakes and is also run on this day. The race was created to showcase U.S. Triple Crown winner, Secretariat, to Chicago racing fans and did just that as we went on to win the race. Aidan O’Brien holds an impressive record in this race in recent years as he has trained 2 winners in the last 3 years, including Highland Reel in 2015. He will look to add another win to his record this year with Taj Mahal set to run under the ride of Ryan Moore, however he will face tough competition from both Oscar Performance and Eminent.

This year will see Frankie Dettori, Ryan Moore and William Buick all fly out to Illinois to take part in this famous event! All 3 have rides in the Arlington million, with only william Buick out of the three winning it in the past. Ryan Moore is on the favourite, deauville, as he looks to secure a 3rd win for Aidan O’Brien in the race, who previously won it in 2005 and 2011. All three jockeys also have a ride in the Secretariat Stakes with William Buick looking to win this for the first time upon second favourite Permian. Frankie and Ryan then both have a ride in the Beverly D. Stakes, having both won this race in the past, Frankie in 2004 and Ryan won it in both 2013 and 2014.

Good luck to all three of the jockeys and we hope they can provide us with some winners!

Sam Hitchmough